• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, and Slack. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.


Great Eastern Hotel

Page history last edited by Andrew F 10 years, 7 months ago

Back to Hotels in Camberwell


Built/licensed: 1960

Location: 255-259 Camberwell Road, Camberwell. 

Delicensed: 1920 after Local Option Poll.

Status of building: Commercial use

Other names: Sherwood Club Hotel (from 1887).

Heritage Reviews / Conservation studies: City of Boroondara - Thematic Environmental History (March 2012) pp. 47, 107

City of Boroondara - Camberwell Conservation Study (1991) Volume 2, pp. 70, 103.

MMBW Maps: Detail plan 1852, 1904.


Comments: Built in the late 1850s, and first license in 1960, this hotel was described in the Argus (7 January 1861) as "built of stone and brick, stone foundation, capital cellar, 10 x 12 ; tank, 80 x 15, beautiful water. Street Floor. -Bar, well fitted, 12 x 14 ; bar parlour, 12x10; bagatelle-room, 80 x 14; kitchen and sor vants' room, 20 x 10. First Story, approached by a very neat staircase.-. Two neat parlours, and two bedrooms, with a fine ventilated passage between, 3ft. wide. Stable, courtyard, and a large population in the neighbourhood."


In 1863, it was owned by William Murray, who also owned the butchery in the area. On alternate Monday nights in the 1860s, the Oddfellows met there. Public meetings at the hotel drew crowds to hear Dr L. L. Smith speak, as well to discuss more serious business.


Great Eastern Hotel building, 1993 


It was remodelled and renamed the Sherwood Club Hotel in 1887, and was closed in 1920 following the local option poll. The building still remains.



1860 - Joseph Charles Bickford

1861-63 - John Steer

1866-82? - William Lord

1886 - Louisa Lord

1887 - Philip Stanley Tomlins

1888 - Thomas B. Alexander

1889 - Frederick Secretan

1890-91 - Sarah Randle

1892/3 - William Hobbs

1894/5 - Hugh Gunn

1896 - Mary Brick

1906 - Mary Malone

1907/9 - Elizabeth J. Emery

1910 - John Murray Dunn

1911/13 - Rose McClean

1914/15 - Herbert J. Plant

1916 - Mabel Plant

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.